Recommendations of OSWP

Burcu YARAR
3 min readFeb 10, 2021

Hey you!

Do you want to have an OSWP certificate? If you have started to read the reviews and these suggestions come across, I would like to say that you are very lucky because this article will be a guide as in the previous OSCP article, and I bet the certificate will be yours after following the roadmap I mentioned in this article.

First of all, want to explain why I didn’t write a review. I read many reviews about them before applying for certification exams. For this, I would like to thank everyone who contributed to these issues. After receiving the certificate; If I were preparing for this certificate now, what kind of resource would I like to see? I’m looking for the answer to the question. In this case, it directs me to write a guide that offers a more detailed roadmap than writing a review. In addition, I don’t like to tag things; hard, easy, right, wrong, etc. Hard for who!? Wrong for who!? I don’t find this right because these expressions can vary depending on everyone’s background knowledge and abilities. After this short introduction, I would like to share the road map I followed in this process in order to save time in your process.

Hardware Resources

The equipment I used to set up my own laboratory environment during the preparation phase is as follows.

Wireless Network Router:

  • Netgear WNR1000v2

Wireless Card:

  • TP-LINK TL-WN722N

Roadmap & Tips

The road map I followed during the preparation phase is as follows.

  • I read the PDF sent to me after the certificate application.
  • I watched the videos sent to me after the certificate application.
  • I did the exercises in the PDF. (If you have done security tests in the field of wireless networks, performing these attack scenarios once will be enough for you to pass the exam. If you have not, it will be enough to “understand” these attack scenarios once again.)
  • I grouped the attack scenarios I learned. (For example, I made an attack map that says; “If the network key that I came across is a network key using WEP encryption, I must do X attacks. If it is using WEP encryption and SKA authentication is available, I should do Y attacks, if not, I should do Z attacks.” In the meantime, in a review, I read this. I came across it and it was very successful in speeding up my own process.)
  • Finally, I created a cheat sheet that I will use during the exam.

Exam

Cheat Sheet

The cheat sheet I used during the exam, the road map I followed and the attack map is available in the link below;

You do not need to prepare an extra copy paper because all the details about the exam process are available in the repo I created. You can be sure that this will definitely do your job.

Most importantly, remember that the most important thing, both in this certificate and in your way of life, is to be on the road. Re-choose what you want to be/who you want to be and experience it every day 🥂

Finally; Never give up! #tryharder 😈

View my verified achievement from @offsectraining;

--

--

Burcu YARAR

Passionate Cyber Security Expert #member @SynackRedTeam #pentesting #cybersecurity #offensivesecurity #applicationsecurity | https://www.linkedin.com/in/brcyrr/